top of page

Surfrider Foundation Campaign

As I was doing researching thinking about what I wanted to write about this week I came across a really interesting campaign about ocean pollution. As an advertising major this obviously peaked my interest, bringing ocean pollution and advertising together.

The Surfrider Foundation is Europe came up with a campaign that was aimed to make people think about their purchases and how they affect marine life. I think these ads were really powerful and if I were to see them, even if I had never really thought about ocean pollution necessarily before they would definitely make me think about it when I saw them. Obviously the purpose of an ad campaign is to make people think and take action, and I think these ads definitely make you think when you see them. If I were to see these really anywhere it would definitely make me stop and look at them or do a double take considering it looks like a poor little sea creature is being held at gunpoint. And then to take a closer look and see that it is a scanner gun (I don’t really know what else to call it) I would definitely be curious as to what the ad could possibly be about. And I think that’s what a good ad should do.

I just really thought this was a really interesting campaign and really a good idea. I think some of the best campaigns have an element of shock value and this one definitely did. I think something like this should be done here in the US and really all over since the ocean is such a major part of really everyone’s lives.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page