top of page

tiny house

Watching the Tiny House documentary really made me think about our society as a whole and the priorities we have. Why does the size of your house say so much about you? Why does it matter at all? Although I don’t think I would be able to live in a true tiny house with under 200 sq. feet of room, after watching this documentary it made me realize how pointless it is to have a house that is thousands of sq. feet. It takes massive amounts of energy to power giant houses like this. I never thought about all the importance our culture puts on something as simple as the size of someone’s house and what we think it says about that person as a whole. Because in reality the size of someone’s house has nothing to do with whom they are as a person. You can actually search “what your home says about you” into Google and find articles analyzing this extremely pointless topic. Articles like these say more about our society and our priorities than the homeowners they are trying to describe. Why does a home need to say something about the person that lives in it? Why can’t it just be a home and all it says is that someone lives there. Because that’s all it needs to say, it doesn’t say anything about the person inside it. Just like you don’t judge a book by its cover, you shouldn’t be judging a person by their house. Because whether they can afford a big house or not, or they can afford to have a well-manicured lawn, or nice items inside their house, it doesn’t say anything about them as a person. After I watched this it made me question what kind of house I wanted to live in when I got older, suddenly the idea of having a huge house no longer seemed so appealing, it seemed like a waste of space and money. Because I’ll admit, before watching this, I really wanted a big house because I thought of that as something that would make me seem like a better person somehow because it would show wealth. But now I see that this isn’t really the case and that materialistic things in life aren’t really what matter.


 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page